Page 5 of 8

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2018, 18:32
by Klaus
Hi Andre,

I recapture:
S14 x S15

Kind regards

Klaus

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 10 Nov 2018, 22:27
by Andreloha
Dear Klaus,

Continuing West Turn 7, moves 16 & 17:

D10 - 11 = 1
E17 x S15 = 1

Waiting for recapture?

Kind Regards
Andre

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 10 Nov 2018, 22:50
by Klaus
Dear Andre,

I recapture:
E13 x E15

Kind regards

Klaus

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 11 Nov 2018, 15:52
by Andreloha
Dear Klaus,

A long turn, sorry. Conclusion of West Turn 7:

C23 x E15 = 2
C15 x D11 = 1

Total 20 moves.

Kind Regards
Andre

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 16 Nov 2018, 22:41
by Klaus
Dear Andre,

the situation isn't so obvious as you thought (quick win)...

North turn 7:

Gess621 - 983 8P
Ess983 - 356 2P
S313 - E311 1P
S312 - Es311 1P
Ess311 - G939 5P
Gess939 x Gk930 3P
Total 20P

Kind regards

Klaus

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 17 Nov 2018, 02:00
by Andreloha
Dear Klaus,

I am glad my feeling did not materialize. I was very worried back then that you would nearly paralyze me with your big army near the center Quest.
I knew the Tower move was a very low probability of success, but more an attempt at distraction. Anyhow, it may continue a good while now.

I will be away to Vietnam and Okinawa from 3-18 Dec. so will not be able to play during that period.

Please find hereafter the beginning of East Turn 7:

E450 x K355 = 6
Recapture?

Kind Regards
Andre

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 18 Nov 2018, 22:30
by Klaus
Hi Andre,

according to the German version of the Conquest rules a soldier can dismount an elephant and the elephant can make the recapture afterwards. But now I noticed that there is a difference between the English and German versions of Conquest in this regard. Because the "recapture rule" isn't a new element of Grand Conquest I didn't make sure of that by looking into the rules book of Grand Conquest. Surprise, but a bad one...
So I have to recapture in this way:

Ess356 x E355

Kind regards

Klaus

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 18 Nov 2018, 23:04
by Andreloha
Dear Klaus,

For us, we have always played that you cannot dismount before recapture, but a soldier can dismount to recapture (if it can). Same for a soldier on a chariot, or a boat with load.

Continuing on East Turn 7 , after first 6 moves:

D449 - 351 = 3
S349 - 351 = 2
Ds351 x Ess355 = 4
Ds355 x Ds16 = 3

Wait for Recapture?

Kind Regards
Andre

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 20 Nov 2018, 22:48
by Klaus
Dear Andre,

I knew that the German translation of the Grand Conquest rules in the German edition is poor (many aberrations
from the English text). I've corrected and uploaded the German translation. One can find it on this website.
But obviously there are differences between the German and English version of the Conquest rules, too.

You said "...for us, we ..." = "you and your friend" You have played according to the English version....That's right. And the English source is decisive.

I recapture:

E14 x Ds16

Kind regards

Klaus

Re: Klaus (South+North) vs. Andreloha (West+East)

PostPosted: 21 Nov 2018, 01:09
by Andreloha
Dear Klaus,

Sorry that this affected your play. If you wish, we can take it back to before your last North turn?
Just let me know.

If you prefer continue, West will first recapture your last move
West: C11 x E16.

Then East continues with the last 2 moves:
S423-431 = 2

Total = 20

Kind Regards
Andre